Outstanding Investor Digest New Website

I have been a little too busy with unproductive activities to post anything new lately, so this short post will simply alert you to a “new” resource that you will find more valuable than anything I’ve ever posted.

http://oid.com/home is the new website of the Outstanding Investor Digest (OID). Some of you more seasoned investors have a pretty good appreciation for how good this newsletter is, but if you have never heard of it, this might convince you to check it out:

“I’d advise you to subscribe. I read each issue religiously. Anyone interested in investing who doesn’t subscribe is making a big mistake.” – WARREN BUFFETT

Each issue is comprised of several long interviews with notable value investors (think Seth Klarman and people like that). Most of the interviews develop into 10 page stock pitches by the interviewee and subscribers have generally found those to be quite actionable. In fact, many people consider Bruce Berkowitz’s rise to fame in the 1990s as largely attributable to a call he made on Wells Fargo in the 1991 edition of OID, during the banking crisis. Anyone who followed him into the stock (including Buffett) made an absolute killing in the subsequent years.

Many issues also come with a full transcript of that year’s Q&A session of the Berkshire Hathaway annual meeting which needless to say, exposes you to a ton of wisdom.

On the flip side, they have also increased the cost of subscription. I believe the old price was $295 for ten issues and that is no longer the case. A one year subscription now costs $395, and covers the cost of all of the editions published that year or a minimum of four editions, whichever is longer. While that sounds pricey, lookit, if one can just learn one thing useful from the letter, it could mean $millions of potential profits/loss savings in his future investing endeavors (I use the same excuse to justify my Amazon shopping binges).

I’ve always felt that they charged too low a price for the product, especially considering that the editions came out very infrequently, and it seems that the author has chosen an opportune time to make use of the untapped pricing power (A competing product called the Value Investor Insight, organized by Whitney Tilson and John Heins, has recently been put on sale). The new pricing structure also suggests to me that the author may increase the frequency of publishing new editions.

Another valuable resource that comes with it is the archive of old OID issues dating all the way back to 1986. That’s 4000 pages of Buffett & Munger wisdom and interviews with other investing titans. While the material is old, the lessons are timeless. Access to the archive costs $495 per year, or can be purchased with a year worth’s of new issues for $695.

(I don’t get compensated for recommending OID, do your own DD before you subscribe)

9 thoughts on “Outstanding Investor Digest New Website

  1. Rob says:

    My issue isn’t with the price, it’s with the ridiculous restrictions they put on what devices you can read it on and printing. It’s not available on Mac, so I can’t read it on my I-pad. Now that most Berkshire meeting notes are available for free, I can’t justify the price given the absurd restrictions placed on content I would have paid $700 for. No other magazine (including interest rate observer and manual of ideas, which both charge close to $1,000K/year) is so ridiculous about use of their content.

      1. That’s not the issue, it’s the restrictions. It’s $100+ to print an archive copy and not available on mobile formats. I have a windows computer and also have windows on my mac. The issue is that you can only use 1 (now 2 devices) to view the content on. It’s very frustrating. Do you enjoy reading on a desktop computer? I’d prefer a tablet, and also not to have to pay hundreds of dollars to print a copy.

        Why do you define as a decent computer? I find my mac superior to the windows computers I own, so do you have any stats or just inflammatory language?

  2. Gilman Gunn III says:

    I “subscribed” about 4 years ago to Outstanding Investor, and only received one copy since then. You’ve been warned.

  3. I was an OID subscriber for years, starting in the late 80’s when I lived in Switzerland. It was a great source of ideas but then it disappeared, maybe in the early 2000’s. I called and wrote them but ever received a reply. It has been maybe five years since I last googled OID but today I did again. It appears that the owner of OID, or his heirs, have decided to monetize the old content. I like reading old investment stuff, but not sure I would pay for it.

  4. As an OID subscriber since 1990, I hung on to many back issues, especially the ones with Berkshire Hathaway and Munger transcripts. These are now for sale (at a reasonable price). Send me a message via my website if you are interested in the details.

  5. I have not heard anything from OID since I subscribed to 4 new issues in 2012. I don’t even know if this company exists any more. In addition we have paid for and been denied access to some of Wall Streets’ best thinking because the publisher is too cheap to hire a computer consultant. I want my money back, not a $100 price increase from someone who has not communicated for 4 years.

    John Ewing

Leave a Reply

